Liquid Football Trophy 2018 Preview

The Liquid Football Trophy 2018 is only days away, as the 4th annual tournament kicks off this Sunday, at Power League, Peterborough. All profits from the day will be donated to the Little Miracles charity (registered charity no: 1160178).

Starting in 2015, the previous three events have helped raise over £1,100 for local charities – which couldn’t have happened without the help of event sponsors. And that’s the same this year, as the LFT 2018 has been helped by Patterns of Play, Harrison Rose Estate Agents, The Yellow BlockBale’s Services ltdPinchbeck Kebab HouseGoose’s Garden and Vision Security.

With two groups of five, and the top two progressing into the semi-finals, this year’s Liquid Football Trophy has a bona fide ‘group of death’, as all three previous winners were drawn together in Group A.

Reigning champions Simple FC will return to this year’s tournament to defend their crown.
In their debut LFT, Simple won 3 games and drew 1 in 2017 in Group B, going on to knock out 2016 LFT winners Disaronno Ronaldo in the semi-finals, before scoring a convincing 4-1 win over Libby’s Boys to lift the prestigious trophy. Will Simple FC have a succesful campaign again in 2018, or will they do a Germany?

Inaugural winners Krakow Veterans will also make the journey from Boston to compete again at this year’s tournament. The Vets have competed at every LFT so far, and have never failed to reach the knockout stage – topping their group every year. They’re the tournament’s top goal-scorers (52), have recorded the most wins (10) and hold the record for the longest winning run (7), and will once again be one of the tournament’s favourites this year.

The other team whose name is engraved onto the illustrious trophy, Disaronno Ronaldo will also compete at the LFT 2018. Disaronno Ronaldo lifted the trophy in 2016 after beating Hereward Radio FC 3-0 in a penalty shootout, with goalkeeper Josh Richardson proving to be the hero for ‘the fat lads’. Last year, Disaronno Ronaldo weren’t as successful – ending their reign as champions at the semi-final stage – at the hands of eventual winners Simple FC.

One of only two teams who have competed in every Liquid Football Trophy to date, FC Liquid Football will once again appear at the LFT this year. Despite getting off to a great start to last year’s tournament, after signing ex-Leicester youth Matt Miles, and Josh Hales and Toby Marumahoko from the States, our boys failed to get out of the group stage, as was the case in both 2016 and 2015. This year, FC LF have signed three of Disaronno Ronaldo’s cup winning side from 2016. Will they be able to reach the dizzy heights of the semi-finals? Probably not.

Kestrel FC will be making their 3rd consecutive LFT appearance, and will be hoping for a better performance this year, as they have finished bottom of the group in both 2016 and 2017. They have won just one game previously – a 2-1 victory over then reigning champions Disaronno Ronaldo. They also gave Spalding Youth, who will also be returning to the LFT this year, their only win to date – a 7-0 hammering.

And another side to have recorded just one win in the Liquid Football Trophy, Diamond Geezers – who beat eventual runners-up Libby’s Boys in the group – have secured their place at this year’s competition.

The Liquid Football Trophy 2018 will also welcome three debuting teams; Fosdyke FCSouth Holland Sundays and Ben Dover FC.

Previous results: 2015 | 2016 | 2017